Appreciating Artwork

Today’s Daily Prompt asks whether I need to agree with an artist‘s lifestyle or politics in order to appreciate or spend money on their artwork.

Art is art. It is pure and simple and gloriously complicated all at the same time. It is beauty and it is interpretation, and that is part of the beauty of it. It is complex and impossible to confine into a little box or label that fits it.

While art is often used as a means of expression of a particular affiliation that the artist may hold, that does not mean that disagreeing with his/her beliefs entitles me to label the art as rubbish or trash or reject it in any other way. Art is art and deserves to be seen in that light.

When I look at a work of art, I don’t see the artist’s convictions unless they are also my own. I don’t see symbolism unless I look for it, and I don’t see anything wrong with buying a piece of art that is created by someone who has different opinions, beliefs and political affiliations to me. If I only bought artwork by those that had the same beliefs as I did, I don’t think I would ever find any artwork to buy.

Which is possibly why my walls are currently empty, but that’s more likely just because I can’t afford any of the artwork that I really love.

2 thoughts on “Appreciating Artwork

Leave a Reply

