My Own Little Space

Today’s Daily Prompt asks to what extent my blog is my own personal space for self expression rather than a site designed to attract readers. And, to be perfectly honest, it’s not the easiest question to answer.

The biggest trouble is that I do have a number of blogs, and they are there for different reasons. I like to think of myself as a writer, and I find that I express myself better in writing than I do in person. It’s why I write birthday cards that tend to make my friends cry, why a lot of the friends I made in high school were met online, and why, over the years, I have kept a number of blogs.

My first blog, Hour of Happiness, was just a personal, trivial thing. Nothing of epic importance. A few poems, a few stories, nothing that I ever expected anyone to read, but a place to put my stuff out there. If someone had come along and read it, I wouldn’t have had a problem with it, but I wasn’t writing for an audience, I was writing for me.

Then I moved to South Korea for a year, and I started an all-new blog, Travellin’ Thru Korea, documenting my time there. What had at first been something personal for me became something that I was writing for friends, family and other people who may have been interested in coming to Korea. And suddenly I found myself with an audience that I needed to be aware of. It meant that I needed to censor myself to make sure that my sister, mother, aunts and grandmothers didn’t read something too shocking (what a year Korea was after all!!) I also found myself slowly writing posts more for other people’s benefit than for my own, and it felt good to know that people were taking something from the blog that I was writing.

When I came back from Korea, I swapped back over to a personal blog, Travellin’ Thru Life, but I felt that something was lacking. Suddenly my audience was gone and my life stopped being interesting. My day-to-day was not nearly as fascinating as it had been while I was overseas, and the attention left me lacking.

But that wasn’t of too much concern, because I now had my photography blog, Evanescent Photography, which I had also started in Korea. I was slowly and surely growing myself a photography business and posting blogs on my clients, my experiences and my little tips. This became the blog for the public eye, though again my personal blog remained public and open to anyone who chose to read it.

But then, I found myself wanting to write more personal blog posts. Posts that I didn’t want people to be able to see and judge me by. Posts that felt far too personal for the public, and so I started yet another blog, this one closed to the public, this one just for myself, a place to write what I was feeling without worrying about repercussions. And so a new blog emerged.

And finally, I started following The Daily Post, and decided that it deserved a blog of its own. A wordpress blog this time. One that was dedicated to the public, that was less about me and more about my writing, more aimed at the public while still keeping my personal appeal. And this blog, Travellin’ Thru Rambles, was born.

And so, when Daily Post asks whether my blog is my personal space, I have to say that some of them are and some of them aren’t. Some are for me and some are for others and some are for everyone who wants to read them. Some of them I would change if it meant more readers, and some of them have a strict no readers policy. And, in my mind, that is absolutely perfect.

9 thoughts on “My Own Little Space

  1. You must be so busy but it sounds like you have everything covered and that keeps life interesting, you can express all sides of your character – Vee

    • I do try to keep myself busy, but then I end up only updating some of them regularly, while others end up falling to the wayside. The photography one is pretty regular and hopefully this one will stay as a regular. The rest I just update when I can in between work and photo shoots. But I find keeping busy better than doing nothing, and writing is one of my few true loves!!

  2. Pingback: Why I write? Why I share? [My personal Space] | 3rdculturechildren

  3. Pingback: The Contents of Stuph™ | Stuphblog

  4. Pingback: A CORINTHIANS KIND OF LOVE | hastywords

  5. Pingback: Personal Space | planningforaccidents

  6. Good blog you have here.. It’s difficult to find excellent writing like yours nowadays. I really appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  7. Pingback: Personal Space | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

