A Black Cat

So apparently this has been my week for poetry, because I just can’t stop writing the stuff. I asked one of my colleagues to provide me with inspiration as per today’s Daily Prompt, and he came up with “A Black Cat”. Which is kind of uninspired on his part, because he knows that I just adopted a teeny tiny black kitten a week ago and have had another black cat for years. But a valid suggestion nonetheless. As soon as he said it, a sentence popped into my head and I had to write it down. I also thought that the photo below went perfectly with it. And so, without further ado, today’s post.

Image

A Black Cat (Midnight)

Quiet as the mouse I stalk, I walk
hiding in the shadows.
Shuffling silently along the floor,
tiptoeing between the belongings
strewn across my path
hiding me from my unsuspecting prey.

Prancingly pouncing, precariously poised
to fight unrelentingly
before becoming unbalanced.
Rolling restlessly while finding my feet and fleeing
for the corner under the bed
where the wary warriors wallow.

Squeakless silence ensues
as I stare at the space where it lies in wait,
secretly stewing over a battle sorely lost
Bbt patiently preparing.
Spritely fighting Midnight
begins the hunt again.

Other people posting today include:

The Grocery Store War | That Girl Ryan
!Remove Me | بيسان
Pillow, Pig, Bears and Snoopy | Tony’s Texts
Can We Learn About How A Booger Is Picked? | The Jittery Goat
Love bottle? | Hope* the happy hugger
DP Challenge – Mad Libs – ‘A Beautiful Walk’ | hometogo232
45. Yoga Class: DPChallenge | Sofie’s Diary
Daily Prompt: Mad Libs « Mama Bear Musings
Sing, Gracious Book | Daily Prompt: Mad Libs | likereadingontrains
The Wacky Skip: A Reflection on Mad Libs | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
Daily Prompt: It is 48 hours Till MikeFest 2013 | My Daily Prompt Blog
A brilliant run | MC’s Whispers
Daily Prompt: Sweepstakes, Surprising, House | Lines by Linda
May 2 Daily Prompt: Mad Libs | Nadeen’s Corner
A pertinent impasse’ at 4am | Pigments of Life
Most Nigerian Mothers in-law are diabolical. Reality or Stereotype | Hera Pereira
“THE” “FROSTY” “BOSS” | Serena Stillwater
Daily Prompt: Mad Libs | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
Dog-free Friday: Marugoto Shokudou’s resident cat |
Putting Your Kids First, Walk Blue « Overcoming to Becoming

7 thoughts on “A Black Cat

Leave a Reply

