Teenage Techie

Today’s Daily Prompt is a pretty easy one to write about to be honest. Mostly because it is about writing itself, and about a subject that I feel particularly strongly about.

“Lara.”
The intercom beside me bursts into life with a crackle and a distorted call that is echoed through the floorboards. I roll my eyes in response and reluctantly start typing out my goodbyes in the forms of “GTG”s, “BRB”s and “Ciao”s.
“Lara,” the voice repearts, just a little more frustrated now.
“Coming, Mom!” I shout up through the floorboards, not bothering with the intercom now, as I grab the keys to the downstairs room, turn off the light and lock it behind me.

My parents wouldn’t let me have the computer in my room as a teenager, though I was the only one who ever used it. Looking back now, it was a good choice on their part. Knowing how much time I ended up spending on mIRC, Yahoo! Chat and practically any chat line I could find, if I had a teenage daughter I certainly wouldn’t let her chat away in her room, typing into the early hours of the morning.

I was an awkward teenager – not particularly smart, not very outgoing and incredibly shy, and it did not lend itself to making friends very easily. Striking up conversations with strangers has never been one of my strong points. And yet, being online turned me into a different person. A confident person who felt that she had opinions that meant something, who had worth and who could express herself without fear of rejection. Online, I could say what I wanted to without turning a bright red (not that anyone could see in any case) and it didn’t matter if it sounded ridiculous or if I made a fool of myself, because I was practically anonymous.

Without the internet, I feel that my life would have turned out entirely differently. I feel that without chatting, and the dangers that it exposed me to because, looking back, there were many of them – a 14 year old girl chatting to men on Yahoo! Chat is never particularly safe and I was naive enough to think that they were actually interested in my brain rather than something else but, thankfully, smart enough not to give it to them – I would never have left my shell. I would have been the lonely girl at the back of the classroom without any friends. I would have been the single girl at the back of the university lecture hall taking notes and not venturing outside of my room on weekends. I would have been the 25 year old woman with no friends sitting alone in her bedroom on a Saturday night. Oh… wait. BUT there wouldn’t have been people who loved me in the rooms surrounding me and there wouldn’t be acommunity out there reading and commenting on my blog (yay!)

Oh, and in terms of emotion and intent in text, I think that I manage to convey it pretty well in my writing. I like to think so anyway. It’s part of what I love about writing – the ability to take something from my mind and confidently put it onto a page. I am far better at expressing emotion in writing in fact. I am more likely to be open and honest in a letter than I am face-to-face. I am intimidated far too easily in person. I become a shy, mumbling mess of a person in person, whereas I like to think that I come across as a far stronger woman in my writing. What do you think?

Communicating online has opened me up to a whole new world of people that I would never have met in my blissfully sheltered life. And I am so grateful for that, because I can see clearly in my mind how my life would have gone otherwise, and it is not good. The internet has brought me to where I am today, and I have chat to thank for that 🙂

 

Other writers participating today include:

Weekly Photo Challenge ABOVE | 2013 Weekly Photo Challenge Blog
Imagining the author | idiotisms
May 4 Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | Nadeen’s Corner
Not the Boy Who Cried Wolf | Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | likereadingontrains
Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text, World « Mama Bear Musings
6 The Big News: DPChallenge | Sofie’s Diary
Netizen/Citizen | Sofistikeyted
I Don’t Want To Be Politically Correct I Just Want To Be Left Alone | The Jittery Goat
Ghost in the Machine | Matthew Vett’s Development Blog
Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
Let’s talk | Spunky Wayfarer
Daily Prompt: it’s A Text, Text, Text World | Morrighan’s Muse
A bumpy ride on the communication see-saw | Formally known as Verity
Daily Prompt: Communicating in Cyber World | My Daily Prompt Blog
Daily Prompt: Communicating in Cyber World « My Blog portions
Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | Lines by Linda
Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | On My Front Porch

3 thoughts on “Teenage Techie

  1. Pingback: I Don’t Want To Be Politically Correct I Just Want To Be Left Alone | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | just happy thoughts | Kaleidoscopic World in Words

  3. Pingback: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World! | 3rdculturechildren

Leave a Reply

