Dear Mom

Being Mother’s Day, today’s Daily Prompt asked us to write a letter to our mothers. I have never had the best relationship with my Mom, but I think that the below letter sums up my feelings towards her. The photograph is from a recent maternity shoot, which I thought encaptured my feelings of love and family and Mother’s Day in the best way.

Image

Dear Mom

I know that there are times when we don’t get along, when we fight and want to tear our hair out from frustration at each other. There are times when I drive you crazy and there are times when you make me so mad.

But then there are times when I need you, and you are always a phone call away, no matter what has happened earlier in the day and no matter how angry we are at each other. It’s the way that it has always been. You are there for me when I need you most, and whatever way it is that you are needed, whether it’s as a friend, a guiding voice, or just a patient ear on the other end of the line.

You always want what is best for me, even when I don’t see that it’s what’s best for myself. And I hope that one day, when I have children of my own, I can be half as good a mother as you have been to me.

Happy Mother’s Day.

Love Always,

Your La.

The ten most recent Mother’s Day letters can be found here:

Lydablogger | A Daughter’s Story
My Best Mother’s Day…so far | Essence of Del
To all moms: what your children mean to say on Mother’s Day | Moms Living Leaner
WP Daily Prompt: Hi, Mom! | CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS
Happy Mother’s Day, Mama | Pinay New Yorker
An Open Letter to my Jehovah’s Witness Mom | Cozy Compulsions @ Midnight
Mothers, Thank you. | theseeker
A Mother’s Day Note | Colline’s Blog
Happy Mother’s Day! (Comic) | Green Embers
A Letter To My Mom | Little Red Jenn

5 thoughts on “Dear Mom

  1. Pingback: My Mom Is 99; Top That! | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Hi, Mom! | writinglikeastoner

  3. Pingback: My Mum | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

