Sense It

Today’s Daily Prompt is all about the senses.

I open my eyes and jump back in fright, a momentary lapse of memory leaving me wondering who I am, where I am and what these giant green eyes are doing staring into my own. She responds just as suddenly, though with more determination than I can muster with a scramble onto her hind legs and a swat in the direction of my nose, her natural defences leaping into action.

Ever since Midnight learned how to open the door to her ‘bedroom’ (ie. our converted en-suite bathroom, where her blankets, litter box and food bowls now reside) this has been my wakeup call. Always me, never my boyfriend, even though he is closer. Always a surprise, and always a delightful one.

With a grumbling of tired sleepiness, I open the blankets and let her snuggle up close to me, taking in my warmth and suckling against the fabric of my pyjamas.

7 thoughts on “Sense It

  1. Pingback: The Best Sensation Of The Day | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Feed Your Senses | writinglikeastoner

  3. Pingback: Feed Your Senses – Kids, Coffee & Pancakes | Khana's Web

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Early Morning Smells and Sounds | My Daily Prompt Blog

  5. Pingback: Natural Magic | Travellin' Thru Rambles

  6. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – A Poetic Duet With Fortyoneteen – “Sensual Senses” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Feed Your Senses | On My Front Porch

Leave a Reply

