Natural Magic

Today’s Daily Prompt asked us whether we would give up any of our senses if we had a chance – to make one of them sharp while dulling the others. I thought that the topic lended well to a poem. I also feel that this is a far better response to Saturday’s Daily Prompt than the answer that I provided then, so I would have linked back to this post even if Daily Prompt hadn’t suggested that I do so.

I juggle up the pros and cons of each
A hard decision weighing on my mind.

With sight comes beauty – 
colours bursting
light dancing
smile widening
as the shutters of my eyes close
capturing the moments in my memory.

With sound comes music – 
nature’s babbling
city’s bustling
laugher bubbling
as my ears record the melody
of the loud symphony of the world.

With taste comes exploration – 
balancing flavours
savouring sweetness
tantalising tastebads
as my tongue tingles with textures
experiencing the cultures around me.

With touch comes delicacy – 
fingers grazing
hands caressing
skin prickling
as my nerves tiptoe around each other
sending signals of joy to my open mind.

With smell comes romance – 
flowering seasons
spicy sensations
passion in a bottle
as the scents overwhelm me
showing me to my personal nirvana.

To give these up would be a sin,
to stifle them a heartache.
Each brings joy in its own right
And I would change them for the world.

 

Here are the others that some other bloggers have provided to the probing question:

Elixir | The Magic Black Book
Is this thing permanent? | Daily Prompt: Dulled | likereadingontrains
Daily Prompt: Dulled « Mama Bear Musings
Should You Drink The Potion? [POEM] | Ramisa the Authoress
Dulled- no thanks… (Daily Prompt) | The Rider
Dulled | Nanuschka’s Blog
If I Was A Tree In The Forest… | The Jittery Goat
Through the looking glass(es) | vicariously in love with you
Dull the senses | Geek Ergo Sum
Daily Prompt: Dulled | बंजारा

  1.  
23 thoughts on “Natural Magic

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Dulled | बंजारा

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Wake Up Call | My Daily Prompt Blog

  3. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – A Poetic Duet With Fortyoneteen – “Sensual Senses” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  4. Pingback: If I Was A Tree In The Forest… | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Dulled | writinglikeastoner

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Feed Your Senses | On My Front Porch

  7. Pingback: On My Front Porch

Leave a Reply

