Faceless or Face-to-Face

Today’s Daily Prompt poses an interesting question of whether it is a website’s job to moderate the content that users post, or whether users should have the freedom to say what they want.

I haven’t read any of the responses as yet, so I may be overstepping a line or adding insult to injury somewhere, but…

In my mind I think that people should be able to say what they please, but that they should be prepared to face the repercussions for it.

Personally, I would rather know if one of my friends was a sexist, racist, homophobic halfwit than not know, and if he/she were to post an update that amounted to hate speech, I would like to see it and call him/her out for it. I would want others to do the same.

In my mind, it isn’t up to a greater power or admin to remove the offending post. They are not the people who put the idea in the person’s mind. Ideas of sexism, homophobia and racism do not come from nowhere – they come from upbringing, from the views of the people around you when you are at a vulnerable age. And I believe that it is up to those around those, those people who you trust and feel close to, to call you out when you are wrong.

A faceless Facebook admin doing so isn’t going to affect your life in any way. Your mother/father/brother/sister/best friend/girlfriend/boyfriend/aunt/uncle/whatever – someone who you have a personal relationship with and a high opinion of – them saying something will matter and is more likely to make a positive change in the way that you think.

So I may be overstepping boundaries, and I may be stirring where I shouldn’t, but that is my opinion and I stick to it. Anyone in agreement?

2 thoughts on “Faceless or Face-to-Face

  1. Pingback: Is Facebook Two-Faced? | The Jittery Goat

  2. Well said! I also don’t think anyone should have the power to control what you say. In the same breath, we need to remember – at all times – the responsibility that comes with freedom of speech.

Leave a Reply

