Bad Spaces

You can always tell where I am in my life by how much I am writing.

When I am in a good space, the words overflow. They rush out of me onto the keyboard and fill the screen. They dance across the pages that scatter my desk in amongst comments about clients to call and accounts to suspend. My desktop gets filled with half-finished stories and my blog gets filled with posts about every subject under the sun. I cannot keep the words in.

And then there are the bad spaces, when the words refuse to make their appearance. I stare at the screen and nothing comes out. I lay my fingers on the keyboard, willing them to type, and they refuse to work. It only makes the bad space worse as I begin to hate myself for not being able to coax the words out. I become angry and irritated and it extends to my work and my home, affecting all around me.

I’ve been in one of those bad spaces over the past few weeks, and I haven’t been blogging nearly as much as I would like to. I look at the prompts, and will my mind to work and come up with some form of response to them, but it remains blank.

I think I am coming out of it now, and I am hoping that in the next few days I will be back to my bubbly blogging self. But in case I don’t, please understand that I have been pulled back. It won’t be forever – I will be back.

3 thoughts on “Bad Spaces

Leave a Reply

