My Morality

Today the Daily Prompt wants to know where our morals come from.

I like to think that I am a moral person. I may not be a religious person, or a perfect person, but I like to think that I am a good person. Then again, I suppose most people do. If you thought that you were a bad person, you’d do something to change yourself.

Everyone follows their own moral standards, and the question on display for today is where do mine come from. I think that it’s from a mixture of places.

My parents may not have been openly caring people, but they loved us and they were open to a range of different views. We were never told what we should believe. We were never told that we had to follow Judaism or Christianity. We were never told that any one race or gender or sexual orientation was good or bad or ugly. It was always up to us to decide. I have the feeling that if I had come home saying that I was gay, my parents would have said something along the lines of “good for you” and been done with it. There wouldn’t be hugging or crying or sharing. We weren’t that kind of family. But it would be accepted and taken as well as my coming home and saying that I had a new boyfriend. Girl, boy, alien – it wouldn’t really matter.

At the same time, I think that a lot of my morals come from the education that I received from a very young age. There are a lot of aspects of the Jewish religion that I respect and take as my own even though I am not religious. I do not believe in hell, for example, though I cannot say that i believe strongly in heaven either. I like the Jewish idea of a limbo that exists for a year after one’s death where you look back at your life and see the good and the bad. I like to think of my life in that way. I like to think that I will look back and see mostly good. I know that it is impossible to see only good – there are always going to be mistakes that we learn from and things that happen that we cannot forsee or avoid – but I like to think that I live my life for the good of others, and I think that is important.

How do I treat those with different morals to my own? I try to accept them in the same way as my parents would have accepted my choice of lifestyle and morals. It is not up to me how anyone lives their life. I will worry about getting my own life as close to right as possible, and hopefully others will do the same.

5 thoughts on “My Morality

  1. Pingback: Morality and the Dilemmas of Social Progression | Joseph Rathjen - Freelance Writing

  2. Pingback: There Is Something Beyond YOU | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: The Moral Of The Story | Edward Hotspur

  4. Pingback: Family, Faith and Freedom | Vivir, que no es poco

  5. Pingback: GLASS SLIPPERS | hastywords

Leave a Reply

